A Review: Nad’s Laser Hair Removal

Wed, 18 May 2011 10:24AM

With my shiny new title of International Woman of Mystery (read: New York Editor), there’s absolutely no time to be wasted on shaving, Primpers. The time, the effort, and the embarrassment of forgetting said task, are all things I’d go to painstaking lengths to give up.

So, when I was asked if I’d like to give Nad’s Laser Hair Removal a whirl, I clearly leaped on the chance like I’m about to leap on a bowl of Malaysian beef noodles (yep, I’m in KL and loving every second of it.) Think about it: No more razors, no more in-growns, no more painful Brazilian waxes. Sign. Me. Up.

The brainchild of Sue Ismiel and Daughters (the women responsible for outstanding hair removal brand, Nad’s), the Nad’s Laser Clinic is a high-tech option for women who want to permanently remove their hair.

For years I had heard about the benefits of laser hair removal – the elimination of hair for good, the lack of in-growns that pop up, the time it saves you and the convenience of it all. But I was reluctant to sign up simply because I thought it would be too painful, dangerous, or as many other people assume, too expensive.

Oh, how wrong I was. Let me tell you now Primpers, if you haven’t already had laser hair removal, I suggest you get it immediately. Sure, it’s a little painful at the beginning, but no more painful than a wax. Plus, the lasers at Nad’s have an in-built cooling system that literally cools your skin as the lasering takes place, so your pain level in decreased massively.

Rather than scare you with my before and after shots, I’ll just pop in a gentle recommendation for our friend, Julia Roberts…


The treatments work a little like this:
Initial consultation: the lady takes a look at your hair type, skin colour and skin tone, and asks you a series of very important questions like, ‘where do you want to have laser done?’ In which case, if you’re anything like me, answer ‘EVERYWHERE.’ Or, more specifically ‘my armpits and bikini, please.’
Initial treatment: You’re then asked to pop onto the bed, put some funky sunglasses on and then they fire up the laser. It’s very quick, I’m talking over and out in under 15 minutes including dressing time. So, while there is a little discomfort involved, it’s easier to cope with than a Brazilian wax.
Follow up treatments: After your initial treatment you’re sent home with care instructions (no sunbaking, no shaving for around a week, gentle exfoliation after hairs start returning…) and need to return every 6-10 weeks until you’ve completed around 10 treatments.


And now onto the good bit, Primpers. The results. Yesss!

I have had six treatments so far, and will need another 3 or 4 for my hair to never grow back again. Let’s just repeat that: NEVER GROW BACK AGAIN. Hairless. Forever. I’m still in shock. I’m not overly hairy, but after my first treatment I noticed a difference, with my hair growing back slower, finer and sparser than ever before. Oh, and in-grown hairs; what are they again?
Now, six treatments deep and I have nothing to worry about during my 7-week journey around the Mediterranean Islands, where bikinis are on show and arms are waving in the air. I might have to shave just once, but the regrowth time is slow and minimal. Hooray!
Of course, different skin types react differently to the wavelength of the laser, so it’s best to head into a clinic and have a free consultation. Factors such as hair colour and skin tone, medication, and amount of hair all affect the outcome, but it’s most definitely worth a try, Primpers.

Nad’s Laser Hair Removal prices start from $70 for a casual or $42 for a VIP Package (see, it’s not that expensive at all). For more information call 1300 850 106.

Tell me Primpers…

Have you had laser hair removal?
Do you want to?
Are you now addicted and want to get your whole body done?
Or are you one of those lucky women who have no hair?

Posted by: (Google+)

Comments (44) Print

Tags: , , , , , , ,

44 Comments

  • Posted by: loopylexy Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 10:37am

    Does the pricing range depending on the area being lasered? Also, that would be $70 per session, right? So at least $700 all up?

  • Posted by: lasconosciuta Enthusiast // Wed, 18 May 2011 10:40am

    I’m sorry but I don’t believe ‘never comes back”. Laser hair removal lasts a while, and it is good but not forever – they would have to alter your hormones to do that for the simple fact that we are supposed to grow hair – not that I like that we grow hair but we do…its made to protect our body, but by all means I am all for a woman feeling better about herself so giving this a shot would be good for many, but weighing up personal experience of laser surgery and research into it, it;s giving false hope to claim it kills hair off permanently.

  • Posted by: Lucy // Wed, 18 May 2011 11:07am

    I dream of finding permanent hair removal that works on my skin/hair! I’ve had an IPL consultation before and sadly my hair and skin are too fair (not enough contrast) for that to work – though the girl was very kind and suggested I look into laser as it is stronger and more succesful for fair hair. Not as expensive as I thought it would be though! Might have to look into somewhere near me for a consultation.

  • Posted by: Roxymisha // Wed, 18 May 2011 11:17am

    Body hair has been a nightmare for me my entire life. I would like to try laser hair removal but am wary of going to anyone but a medically trained practitioner.

  • Posted by: LD // Wed, 18 May 2011 11:17am

    @lasconosciuta: I totally agree. I had a course of treatments two years ago to remove/stop the hair on my bikini line and underarms. It has now all grown back. I finished the 10 laser treatments, however I don’t believe it is at all permanent.

    Also, it’s far cheaper to buy your own system like Silk’n. They cost around $700 + extra light bulbs but you can do your whole body and do top ups every few months. They get fantastic reviews too.

  • Posted by: Coconal Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 11:17am

    It would be amazing never to have a shave ever again…but I too feel it’s a bit too good to be true.

    A friend of mine recently underwent a series of sessions and told me at the end of it that the results weren’t that fantastic, I’ve always been tempted to try it but a bit leery of sales people who promise the moon but at the end of the season, pull out the clause that says ‘different people have different results’.

    Might have to go to a NADs consult myself and see where it takes me…it would be wonderful if it worked the way it should!

  • Posted by: lalaland Supporter // Wed, 18 May 2011 11:25am

    I have been contemplating getting Nads laser hair removal for months now! I have done a bit of research and Nads seems by far the most reliable/safest. They also warn you against other places who do not have the right professional experience, and other methods such as IPL.
    However, I don’t think I will get good results because, although I have very thick hair, my skin is fair and I have light brown hair.
    Anyway, I guess it is worth getting a consultation! Thanks for the review.!

  • Posted by: DebstarDesigns Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 11:32am

    I’ve often thought of Laser Hair Removal, especially when standing in the shower freezing in winter whilst shaving my legs or armpits after the hot water’s run out! I’d love to give it a go one day. Luckly I’m not particularly hairy so I don’t think it would take too many sessions to rid me of my unwanted hair.

  • Posted by: beccertron Enthusiast // Wed, 18 May 2011 11:45am

    You don’t need laser hair removal when you have a boyfriend who isn’t phased by three months worth of leg hair growth… a weakened visual acuity doen’t hurt either :)

  • Posted by: Karen-1298334769 Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 11:58am

    My hairs are light so I dont tend to notice them. My legs are a different story but they grow back very sparse but very noticeable. Not sure I could do the laser thing though, might just stick to shaving.

  • Posted by: Jess // Wed, 18 May 2011 11:59am

    I have had laser hair removal from Nad’s Laser Clinic. It is A-MAZING! I have completed my courses for both brazilian and underarm and it is so good not to have to worry about waxing and shaving. I want to get my legs done now!

  • Posted by: samuel Devotee // Wed, 18 May 2011 12:07pm

    I hate hair on by body so any chance I had I would definitley have it done. Oh Julia what was she thinking maybe she wasn’t.

  • Posted by: sumaya Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 12:20pm

    Oh Julia! That is gross lol. I have never had laser hair removal but i would definately be interested in getting it done.

  • Posted by: MademoiselleB Newbie // Wed, 18 May 2011 12:29pm

    I spent $$$ on IPL for underarm and bikini. I had 10 sessions and now I’m patchy! Some hairs seems to be completely gone while others are still growing back as much as before. Hair is more sparse but not gone. What I liked about it is that you can still shave in between treatments, unlike waxing where you have to let it grow all wild!
    QUESTION: What’s the difference between laser and IPL hair removal?

  • Posted by: Bantam Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 12:33pm

    I wish I could afford it – would love to be hair free. Hate body hair, and facial hair too. :S What’s in the VIP package? Seems a little odd that it’s cheaper than a ‘casual’.

  • Posted by: Yasemin Turker Enthusiast // Wed, 18 May 2011 12:34pm

    Loopylexy, it is $700 but that’s over a year or so. I used to pay $60 for a Brazilian and $30 for an underarm wax so it works out to be the roughly the same. Of course, as I said, results will vary but I’ve honestly found that my hair has diminished massively, it’s really, really sparse and my best friend had it done (and has completed her 10 sessions) and had nothing at all. I do warn that you HAVE to go to a reputable salon with trained therapists, though. Laser is one thing you NEVER want people to stuff up. Yx

  • Posted by: xKMS Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 01:18pm

    This sounds kinda amazing!! but would hate to spend $700 and have it grow back in a couple years :S

  • Posted by: bluebird Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 02:26pm

    I wouldn’t mind trying this method if it was affordable for me, the current price tag is way out of my reach.

  • Posted by: Louise-1295043242 Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 03:04pm

    I have had laser hair removal -it costs me $70 for Brazilian. I go once every 6 weeks and I figure the price is only slightly more expensive than if i were to get a wax -but sooo let painful and quicker, plus the hair eventually will just stop growning (hooray!)

    It’s a bit of a pain that you can’t wax or tan in between sessions (or even fake tan) -normally not a prob with Brazilian but I get other areas done and it’s annoying in summer to have to be pale! :)

    I think the laser is a great idea if you can afford it!

  • Posted by: tegania11 Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 04:40pm

    it sucks so much that i have reasonably fair hair… waxing it still is for me!
    I have always been a little scared of the pain of laser too

  • Posted by: tegania11 Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 04:43pm

    PS. louise, how painful is it? because i have heard that it feels like someone flicking you with a rubber band

  • Posted by: ssminnow Enthusiast // Wed, 18 May 2011 05:04pm

    Am I supposed to be offended by Julia’s pits? I’m not. Why do people get so freaked out by a bit of hair? If you don’t want hairy underarms (usually I don’t, myself), fine, but who cares if someone goes au natural?

  • Posted by: Laura-1300235498 Enthusiast // Wed, 18 May 2011 05:17pm

    Ugh! Julia! Put it away!
    This sounds great. I don’t really care if it lasts less than two years – that’s still a helluva lot less to pay for waxing!

  • Posted by: beautybee1 Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 05:17pm

    I don’t like the idea of lasers but I’m not too hairy luckily. Still can’t believe Julia Roberts forgot to shave.

  • Posted by: NatMon Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 06:19pm

    I have been wanting to get laser done for a while. Might have to check Nad’s out.

  • Posted by: Bridals // Wed, 18 May 2011 06:51pm

    My sister is going throgh a course right now, shes equally delighted. I have wanted to do it for ages but don’t know where to start. I suffer really badly from ingrown hairs on my legs, arms (yes I wax my arms, Im not hairy person Im just fair skinned) and eyebrows. So its really a case of where to start, I’m thinking the arms as Ive heard that its not that great on fine hair like facial hair.

    But I’m so glad to hear get another success story. More justification as to why I just have to jump in and start.

  • Posted by: strawbsundae Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 07:36pm

    sounds quite interesting, however, i’m a little too impatient and out of pocket.

  • Posted by: Tanya // Wed, 18 May 2011 08:05pm

    I’m a Nad’s Laser girl and I LOVES it! Could not recommend it more! I started with my underarms and the second time around I went for the underarms (part of the package) and the arms. Next up legs! So freakin’ excited!

  • Posted by: Tanya // Wed, 18 May 2011 08:11pm

    Ps. The cost depends on the area you get done (ie underarms way less than legs etc) but you can purchase the treatments as one offs, a pack of three and a pack of 10. The pack of 10 comes with a life time guarantee. All packages allow you to pay in installments so the cost is a little less painful (and trust me the cost is the most painful part!).
    Ladies, go forth and laser!

  • Posted by: Jennifer-1292053436 Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 09:16pm

    Wow i’m definitely intrigued..i’m not an overly hairy person but i’d absolutely love the convenience of never shaving again! i believe all women should have the choice whether to shave their underarms or not, but for me it’s a must..that pic of Julia Roberts is very unattractive and unflattering i reckon, though i used to know a bloke who requested his girlfriend never to shave her legs/underarms! each to there own i guess..

  • Posted by: Adele-1299370274 Devotee // Wed, 18 May 2011 09:25pm

    Oooh I want!! – I am NOT one of those lucky woman with no hair , my sister is almost hairless though – what the! dont know what happened there.

  • Posted by: Tina-1291133452 Master Fan // Wed, 18 May 2011 09:40pm

    this sounds like a miracle! if it definately never grows back, i’d so be getting it done!

  • Posted by: ojae Enthusiast // Wed, 18 May 2011 09:58pm

    oh. my. god. I pay more than that for a monthly facial!! I’m investigating immediately! Thanks Yaz!

  • Posted by: moohanda Supporter // Thu, 19 May 2011 01:03am

    I’ve been singing the praises of laser hair removal for 3 years now. I’ve had my bikini and underarms done and the results have been amazing! I got 7 treatments and my body responded really well to it, so I’ve only been back for 1 touch up. Such a fan, and it’s worth never having to bother with shaving. My legs are a different matter, I’m not sure I can afford that at the moment though!

  • Posted by: ladolcelana Enthusiast // Thu, 19 May 2011 05:06pm

    I’ve never had laser before, but I’d definitely consider it. First I need to get over my silly pain phobia!

  • Posted by: Becca Master Fan // Thu, 19 May 2011 10:17pm

    Thanks for the article Yas, I have been wanting to do this later this year, it will be my beauty project. Will you have any sensitivity towards the sun because of this?

  • Posted by: theloveofpink // Thu, 19 May 2011 10:31pm

    I’ve been actioning my own deforestation project for about six months now at Hairfree (south yarra in case anyone is interested). I am loving it! It’s expensive (I’m getting legs, brazilian and pits) but worth every penny even just for the slower regrowth. I am so annoyed at myself for not doing it sooner – I had assumed it would be incredibly painful, but it’s totally nothing.

  • Posted by: Lena // Fri, 20 May 2011 04:48pm

    I have been thinking about getting this done for a while now and would jump right in if I knew a good place to go. Can anyone recommend somewhere in the Brisbane area for professional, lasting, safe permanent hair removal?? Thanks!

  • Posted by: Nad's Laser Clinic // Mon, 23 May 2011 03:47pm

    **SPECIAL OFFER FROM NAD’S LASER CLINIC** Nad’s Laser Clinic would love to invite primped.com.au readers to one of our 5 conveniently located clinics in Sydney (Castle Hill, City, Warringah Mall, Parramatta and Burwood) so you can experience the excitement and convenience of laser hair removal. Simply mention “primped” before 30th June 2011 to have a FREE NO OBLIGATION CONSULTATION and also to receive a 20% DISCOUNT off our casual laser hair removal rates. Start your hair removal journey today by calling 1300 850 106 or visit http://www.nadsclinic.com.au

  • Posted by: Sascha89 Supporter // Tue, 24 May 2011 09:21am

    I really want to get this done!
    Thank you for the review. I’ve been way to scared to book this, but now I think I’ll give it a shot.

  • Posted by: Romy // Sun, 29 May 2011 09:56pm

    Wow! Can anyone tell me if and when theres a salon coming to melbourne?

  • Posted by: chicklet Devotee // Mon, 13 June 2011 08:04pm

    Shaving doesn’t bother me enough to go down the laser route.

  • Posted by: Miss_Honest // Tue, 14 June 2011 09:52pm

    When are they going to open in Melb? I have gotten IPL and it all just grows back…. Would love a GUARANTEE like NADS offer.

  • Posted by: talkalot Master Fan // Thu, 3 July 2014 09:33am

    It is up to the individual about under arm hair on a woman, I think it looks disgusting.

hair

gimme more

more hair

Independent Digital Media Network